Tags

, , , , ,

It’s always good to get to know somebody before you begin a relationship. I thought I’d share bits of myself before I begin anything. This “Interview with Myself” will be broken down into 4 parts, with each part containing 25 questions which I will answer as honestly as possible, otherwise then, why bother doing this, right? I hope these will give you a little picture of who I am.

Biography interview questions were taken from:
http://www.web-biography.com/Sample_biographical_questions.html
Happy reading.
  1. When and where were you born?
    • I was born on Friday, 17 April 1987 at the Manzini Nazarene Hospital in Swaziland.
  2. What is your earliest memory?
    • Our uncle Bheki came to pay us a visit one evening to see my father. Upon entering the lounge, I was happy to see him as always and he was greeting me, and he asked where my dad was. I responded innocently, “He’s in the toilet,” which was true of course. As it is to be expected, he laughed. My father was upset with me, and told me you don’t go around advertising that a person is in the bathroom. I learnt my lesson that day. Thankfully, no-one’s butt (mine) got a whooping.
  3. Who was the most influential person to you as a child?
    • My family members were the main influential people in my life as a child. My aunt Beat for her great personality and ability to interact with all kinds of people; my uncle Cliff spoke very well and I wanted to sound like him (minus the baritone); my mom for her passion to help others all the time; and a couple more.
  4. How would your parents describe you as a child? Why?
    • Well-behaved, talkative, inquisitive, smart, loved laughing, easy to get along with, no matter who you were and where you came from, and enjoyed being with my friends. Why? Because that’s just how it was.
  5. Did you have any pets as a child? What kind?
    • Yes, I did. I only ever had dogs as pets. They were Lela (our one-eyed dog) and Thatcher. And as I grew up, I also got Trixy, Pumbaa and Buddy.
  6. What was your favourite game?
    • Our Prince of Persia and Supaplex computer games. These were obviously very old school with the typical 8-bit graphics of the early 90s, played on our old MS-Dos computer. They were lots of fun and kept me well-entertained. I never ever finished Supaplex, but I did finish the Prince of Persia. I felt like such a hero. I still love those old school graphics.
  7. Who was your first best friend?
    • My first best friend was Flora Malein. She came to Swaziland from Australia and we made an awesome duo. Our birth dates were 2 days apart, which was always great when it came to having birthday parties because that meant extra celebrations for us.
  8. What were you most afraid of as a child?
    • I remember being very afraid of Shaka Zulu as a child. We used to have a Shaka Zulu TV series and it gave me the heebie jeebies whenever “he”, Shaka, came on screen. So maybe I should say, I was afraid of the guy who acted as Shaka Zulu, and maybe also afraid of the idea of Shaka.
  9. Do you recall any interesting stories related to you by any of your elder relatives that you have never forgotten and you think are worth telling?
    • This happened when I was between 4 and 5 years old. As told by my father…One Saturday afternoon, my father and I drove from the small town of Simunye to Manzini – an approximately 60km trip. Along the way, we saw a lady from our church, waiting for a bus on the roadside. My father stopped and offered her a lift. She got inside the car and sat in the passenger seat – I was in the back seat, leaning my two little arms on the 2 front seats. As we drove on, my father and the lady were chatting and I was fuming. After a while, I couldn’t keep it in any longer. I whipped out my hand and slapped the woman across her face, or whatever part of her face that I could reach. What was my reason? I gave it to her:
      “You’re sitting on my mother’s seat! Get off!”
      I honestly do not remember any part of that story, but my father always laughs when he tells it to us.
  10. Describe your parents.
    • My parents are lovely. We may have our squabbles and they may have their not so rainbowwy sides, but I love them and would never trade them for any other parent out there. My father is very success driven. If I would come home with a B, he’d ask what happened to the A. If I’d come home with a 95% he’d ask what happened to the other 100%.  That would (and still can) get a bit too much. We’ve had a chat about it though. He’s a very fun-loving person. Taught us every little magic trick we know and we were always playing together. From computer games, to Xbox, to games outside in the garden. My father is very competitive, another trait which tends to get a bit too much sometimes. I think he may have passed bits of that to me.  He’s very proactive, a little temperamental and doesn’t like to when people don’t take instruction or do their job correctly. My mother on the other hand is Christ-driven. A Proverbs 31 woman. My mom also lives for her children, would do just about anything for her kids. And you NEVER mess with my mom’s kids with her around. If you’ve ever seen a mother hen defend her own, that’s my mom – times 10. A very gentle soul. Quiet from far but has enough comments and comebacks to shock you out of your skull. She just needs to be in a familiar environment. Will laugh at just about anything. She demonstrates the true definition of LOLROF. A true fighter at heart, patient and loving. Yes, I could go on.
  11. Describe your grandparents.
    • I had 3 sets of grandparents in my life. 2 sets from my mother’s side and 1 set from my father’s side. My father’s parents are still alive, but I’ve never had the opportunity to bond with them and go to school with stories to share about my grandparents like my friends did. I grew up in Swaziland and they were based in South Africa, and we didn’t visit them very often and if we did, we wouldn’t stay over. My 2nd set of grandparents, Gogo Dinah and mkhulu, my mother’s parents, have both passed on and I also never had a chance to bond with them. They also lived very far, but at least were in Swaziland. My 3rd set of grandparents, “gogo na mkhulu waseMbabane” (grandma and grandpa from Mbabane) as we used to refer to them, have also passed on. We were very close with them. We used to go and visit them for weekend and over our school holidays, so often that I barely have memories of weekends spent at home during my childhood. Not that I have many memories of my childhood. I’m glad we had a chance to know them and bond with them before they left this Earth. The main things I remember about them: they loved one another; my grandma had a beautiful smile; she loved her grandkids; she would shout if you were naughty; my grandpa never wanted us to go hungry; he loved watching the news and they were a Christian unit. I miss them terribly almost every day.
  12. Where did you attend high school?
    • Sisekelo High School in Big Bend, Swaziland
  13. Who was your best friend? Are you still in touch with them?
    • Nolwazi Gumbi, Nomkhosi Dlamini and Nontobeko Tshabalala were very good friends of mine in high school. With our lives leading to different roads, we’ve all grown and grown out of that “tight” friendship. I’m still very close with Nolwazi and we do keep in touch. We’re just trying to stop relying on email and texting and also trying to grow out of calling one another only on birthdays. So, so terrible. We still have the best conversations when we chat. Also still keep in touch with Nomkhosi, who was my best friend in primary school (Ubombo Primary School) when I moved to Big Bend from Simunye. Nomkhosi’s family always made me wish that I had many siblings and sisters too.
  14. What was your favourite subject to study?
    • Art
  15. Did you play on any sports teams?
    • Basketball, Tennis, Swimming and Netball
  16. What was your favourite sport?
    • Basketball
  17. Were you involved in any school clubs?
    • Does games’ club count? We would just relax and play board games during this period. On a much bigger scale though, I was a part of the school choir and drama class. The one year we did a lovely rendition of the “Oklahoma” stage play. That was lots of fun and I had the honour of playing the lead character, Miss Laurey Williams. We took choir and drama class with Mrs Williams, another one of our musical and artistic greats, a brilliant pianist and musician in our small town of Big Bend.
  18. Is there a teacher that you remember having been particularly influential?
    • Mrs De Holley. It tore my heart apart when she left Sisekelo High School before my matric. But, she had to go and live her dreams like a real artist should. I was happy for her though, taking a step like that after years of teaching and sharing her knowledge and talent.
  19. How would you describe yourself as a student, both socially and academically?
    • I’m not sure that I can. Socially, I got on very well with those that I could safely call my friends; I was able to make (some) friends in lower and higher grades than I was. Academically, I did okay. I couldn’t bear the thought of ever being a failure so I always did the best I could to succeed. Failing was never an option. Not just because of pressure from my father, but mainly from myself.
  20. What did you like most about school? Least?
    • I liked the things which are mentioned on the last point (no. 25). What I liked the least: the gossiping; the outrageous stories told about people; people who would dislike you for no apparent reason.
  21. What sort of extracurricular activities did you participate in as a teen?
    • Sport, Drama and Choir.
  22. Did you earn any honours or were you recognised for any achievements?
    • I received the odd academic honours award in school. And I was Deputy Head Girl in 2005.
  23. What was your favourite music/band/dance in high school?
    • (Almost) everybody I know knows the answer to this. And I say it with traces of embarrassment. Westlife. I bought all of their albums and collected all of their posters and pictures from magazines. I was just short of attending their concert and meeting them.
  24. What would people you know find surprising about you as a teen?
    • I REAAAALLY wanted to go to boarding school. This was mainly so that I could get away from household chores, cooking and all of that lousy home stuff. And I just wanted to have a decent hot plate of food every night, a meal not prepared by me. We didn’t have any help at home and my mom lived an hour away from us. So I had to do the cleaning, cooking, washing, ironing, etc. My mom would come and see us over the weekends and do what she could. I barely managed during the week, especially with homework and exhaustion from sport practice on some days.
  25. What do you miss the most about high school?
    • The relationships forged during that period; the structure; the chance to be more active on the sports field (minus my knee injury); and Mr Obeng Manu’s homeroom.
