Tags

, , ,

image

It was in December 2009 when we first met. We both lived in the beautiful Equestria Estates, Pretoria, South Africa. Little did we know that we were going to fall in love, go through lobola negotiations, the actual lobola and get married on Saturday, 2 May 2015. I’ve been away from my blog and the social space because of debilitating migraines and wedding planning. All of that is in the past and I am now Mrs Hlengiwe Shakung. My husband Itumeleng,  whom I so affectionately call Sunshine, finally got to marry his Dreamgirl (me of course) 2 months ago.

Having come out of disappointing relationships, we didn’t see ourselves getting involved with anyone after our experiences. What’s more, we had never dreamed of ever getting married. Now, here we are. We met, then went our separate ways. When we met again, we had an interesting journey together that got us to where we are now, and this is how it all began:

Dreamgirl
I had recently injured my foot – I tore a tendon and was given an aircast to help me heal and assist me when walking. It didn’t help much that I lived and worked in 2 different towns, I didn’t have a car and I lived very far from all amenities. What a nightmare. I had to walk for about 10 minutes (with both of my feet functioning well) to the gate to catch a taxi, I was required to take 3 taxis to get to work and my healing process was not made any easier. I lived alone and did everything for myself. I liked it that way, until my injury. I’m still not 100% as to how I hurt myself, but I’m pretty sure that it had something to do with me playing tennis while wearing flip flops – very ‘smart’.

One November afternoon while limping to my apartment, a car stopped next to me and a man inside signalled and mouthed, “Would you like a lift?” I hesitated then replied, “No thank you, I’m okay.”

Sunshine
I still can’t believe that you said no. Yes, I was the one who stopped to give her a lift. I saw a young lady, walking very slowly, wearing that heavy looking thing on her foot and worst of all it looked like it was going to rain. I was never a fan of giving women a lift in my car, especially after an incident that occurred some years ago. This was a first for me and there was just no way that I could’ve driven past her.

Dreamgirl
Well, you know me, I wasn’t and still am not a fan of accepting lifts from strangers, especially men who might drive off with me or make a move on me. I wasn’t in the mood for that. I’m never in the mood for that. I did give in eventually, because I had already been caught in the rain the previous week and I was just so exhausted.

Sunshine
I was happy when you did that because you had me very worried. You looked so beautiful and so fragile. I couldn’t just drive away. Beautiful as you were, I wasn’t going to make a move on you because you looked very young, not in an illegal kind of way. But you just looked too young for me. Little did I know…

I won’t lie, I felt like your knight in shining armour and I was going to sleep with a smile on my face because I had done a very good deed that day.

Dreamgirl
Yes, it was a very good deed that you did. I got into the car and off we went. We didn’t exchange names or numbers and I was thrilled about that. Remember?

Sunshine
Yes, I do. At least I asked what had happened to you – that showed that I cared.

Dreamgirl
My last thought as you drove off after dropping me off: “I wonder if he knows just how much I appreciate this and just how much he has helped me. Thank you God.”

Sunshine
My last thought as I drove off, “I hope she will be okay. I wish I can see her again.”

